'04 S4 repairs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• '04 S4 repairs

I bought an '04 S4 back in July and it only had 54k KMs on it. Pretty sweet if you ask me.

It now was 74k KMs on it, I do live out of town so do have a lot of highway KMs on it. In the last 4 weeks I've had to replace the fuel pump and now have to replace the Flywheel and clutch assembly. I don't drive it overly hard imo and really don't have to do a ton of shifting anyways.

What's your thoughts? It seems odd to me that under 100k I have to replace the clutch and flywheel. That's a pretty pricey repair that I'm already being forced to do.

Do I have a dud? In your experiences, is this the type of maintenance that occurs as a S4 gets close to 100k? I'm fairly new to not only Audis, but German cars as a whole. George is getting to know my S4 a little too well

As a reference, my poor little '99 Acura EL is sitting at 270k KMs and still running on the original clutch.
    A little yellow '04 S4 Avant

Re: '04 S4 repairs

Depends on how you launch and how you shift. I would say that 100k is low, but reasonable.
    Jordan
    Jerbel Autowerks

Distributor of parts from:
    JAW, 034 Motorsport, Power Up Lubricants and OEM replacement parts
    (403) 690-7135
    jordan@jerbelautowerks.com

Comment

Yikes. That's really quick for the clutch to go. I think bad luck is on your side.

Comment

I don't think the car is a dud. Who knows how the previous owner drove the car prior to you? Yeah if you had owned it since new, babied it and the clutch went this early I would say there's a problem however not knowing how the car was driven for the first 54K of its life, its not fair to blame the car!
        Derek

-2008 Avus Silver RS4-Fat ass II
        -1996 C4S-Fat Ass
        -2007 FJ Cruiser-6 speed

Comment

Exactly. If you're taking off from every stop light with the tach at 3000 rpm, the torque from that V8 is going to fry the clutch right quick.
          Jordan